The Revis A. Cox Memorial Award honors the passion of professionals who contribute relentless support for multicultural education and social justice through their leadership on campus. The recipient will receive $400 to support their professional development at an ACUI event to continue to grow as a mentor, advisor, and advocate for student learning and inclusion.

2022 Recipient: Varselles Cummings, University of Houston 

Cummings provides leadership and strategic vision of campus-wide programs and services to address the needs, strengths, and challenges of diverse student populations. Cummings worked on “A Time to be Heard. A Time to Learn,” two virtual forums on racial justice, one for students and one for faculty and staff, hosted by the campus Center for Diversity and Inclusion. Note: This award was not given in 2023.

ACUI is now accepting nominations for individual awards! Nominate by December 8!

Submission materials must include the following:

  1. Name, institution, and contact information of the nominee.
  2. Name, institution, and contact information of the nominator.
  3. Two to three letters in support of the applicant to receive the award written by individuals such as direct supervisors/advisors, peers/colleagues, students, faculty members, etc., addressing:
    • The achievements of the nominee in the profession.
    • The demonstrated commitment of the nominee to the criteria identified for this specific award.
    • A summary of the nominee’s background to provide evidence that they meet the criteria identified for this specific award, including information related to professional experience and volunteer service—providing a current resume or curriculum vitae for the nominee is optional.

The submission deadline is December 8.

Note: The submission process is updated this year through our new membership platform—which means applications can autofill with your profile information, be saved as pending for edits until you officially submit, and be stored for your future access. In order to submit an application, you will need to create an account login, if you don’t already have one.

The review process includes, but is not limited to, an assessment of the criteria listed below. The nominee must:

  • Possess creativity and commitment to multicultural education through work in the profession.
  • Demonstrate contribution and relentless support for advancing multicultural education.

Professionals with at least five of experience in the profession at an ACUI member institution are eligible for this award.

Electronic notification will be sent to confirm award submissions have been received. A confidential Individuals Awards and Scholarships Committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review materials to make the selection. One recipient will be chosen, unless otherwise noted for the specific award. One physical award will be given to the recipient, who will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference and in subsequent publications.

  • 2021: Dr. Freddie Sánchez, California State University–Northridge
  • 2020: Keith Kowalka – University of Houston
  • 2019: Tonee Sherrill – California State University–Channel Islands
  • 2018: Wilma Jackson – Doane University
  • 2017: Anthony Roberson – California State University–San Bernardino
  • 2016: Amy Corron – Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • 2015: Mike Coleman – Tallahassee Community College
  • 2014: Tari Hunter – California State University–San Bernardino
  • 2013: Carole Dowell – California State University–Dominguez Hills
  • 2007: Holly Sateia – Dartmouth College
  • 2006: Jeremy Schenk – Illinois State University
  • 2005: Elizabeth Jane Stachowiak – Berklee College of Music
  • 2004: David Atkins – George Mason University
  • 2001: Christopher Cottle – Essex County College
  • 2000: Gregory Wilkins – Florida International University
  • 1999: Bruce Haselrig – University of Pittsburgh–Johnstown
  • 1997: Patrice Coleman-Boatwright – The College of New Jersey; Teresa Drummond – Saint Joseph’s University; and Mims Harris – Colorado State University
  • 1996: Rebecca Parker – The Ohio State University
  • 1995: Debra Hammond – California State University–Northridge
  • 1994: Linda Stitt – University of Wisconsin–Madison
  • 1993: Ishmail Conway – Cornell University
  • 1992: LeNorman Strong – George Washington University

About Revis A. Cox

Revis A. Cox, the late director of student activities at Virginia Commonwealth University, was an extremely active member of ACUI. He served as a member of the regional conference and steering committees as well as a presenter at the regional and international levels. His most important contribution was his work with the Community of Practice for Multi-Ethnic Professional and Allies (COMP), formerly the Committee on Minority Programs. Cox was instrumental in coordinating and chairing the For People of Color: Strategies for Success seminars as well as other COMP-sponsored programs.