The Collaborative Program of the Year is awarded to creative programs which exemplify the positive outcomes of a collaboration within or between institutions. The award advances the value and credibility of the college union on campus, while improving communication, leadership, and campus partnerships.

2024 Recipient: #IWillListen Mental Health Awareness Week, Morgan State University

The Office of Student Life & Development/University Student Center and the Alpha Chapter of Alpha Nu Omega Inc. partnered with National Alliance on Mental Illness Metro Baltimore with support of 40 student organizations, 10 university departments, and 30 community organizations with a goal of encouraging open and honest conversations about mental health, stigma, and access to mental health services among students and staff. Events included informational tables, fairs, stress free events, depression screening, talent shows, and awareness events.

ACUI is accepting nominations through November 20.

ACUI is accepting nominations through November 20!

Submission materials must include the following:

  1. Name, institution, and contact information of the primary contact for the program.
  2. Title of the program.
  3. A summary, up to two pages, of the program, addressing:
    • Description of the program, including goals and intended outcomes.
    • Description and inclusion of the evaluation methods in place for the program, including brief rationale for choosing stated methods.
    • Evidence that the program meets the criteria identified for this specific award.
  4. And one compiled packet of additional supporting documentation for the program, which could include photos, marketing samples, course materials, budget information, testimonials, etc. No page limit exists, but only the first 15 pages will be considered by the review committee.

The review process includes, but is not limited to, an assessment of these criteria:

  • Demonstrate excellence in campus programming.
  • Be a true collaboration between multiple organizations, with planning, implementation, and evaluation work divided among all partners.
  • Demonstrate the use of practices that exemplify outstanding creativity or introduce new approaches beyond what is standard.
  • Achieve its stated intended outcomes.

Due to the wide variety of programs that can be considered, a program does not need to meet every criterion.

All ACUI member institutions are eligible to apply for this award. For collaborative initiatives or partnerships, all institutions must be ACUI members. Eligible programs must:

  • Have taken place since the beginning of the previous academic year.
  • Serve as a model to other campuses for replication.
  • Achieve its stated program outcomes and objectives, with evaluation tools in place.
  • Agree to allow a summary of their accomplishments to be published.

Electronic notification will be sent to confirm submissions have been received. A confidential Campus Awards Committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review materials to make the selection. One recipient will be chosen, unless otherwise noted for the specific award. One physical award will be given to the recipient, who will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference and in subsequent publications.

  • 2023: Career Clothing Giveaway, University of Akron
  • 2022: Islander Beach Bash at Texas A&M University–Corpus Christi
  • 2021: QuadFox 5k – University of Rochester
  • 2020: Juneteeth Celebration – University of Texas–San Antonio
  • 2019: What it Means to be a Redbird – Illinois State University
  • 2018: Family Graduation Celebration – Texas Woman’s University
  • 2017: MyUH, MyHouston – University of Houston
  • 2016: Experience Tallahassee Festival – Florida State University, Florida A&M University, Tallahassee Community College
  • 2015: The Bro Code – University of South Alabama
  • 2014: Major Declaration Celebration – University of Rochester
  • 2013: Packapalooza – North Carolina State University
  • 2012: ACT (Achieving Community Together) Campaign – Texas State University
  • 2011: CONNECT: High-Risk Drinking Prevention Program – The College at Brockport
  • 2010: Stand Up for One Another – SUNY–Geneseo
  • 2009: Study Union – University of Central Florida
  • 2008: HumorFest – East Carolina University