Results Announced for ACUI’s 2020–21 Board of Trustees Election

Throughout October and November 2020, elections were held for open positions on the ACUI Board of Trustees. Overall, there were 477 ballots cast out of 2,746 eligible voters, representing a 17.4% voter turnout. 

Beginning terms during the Annual Conference in March 2021 will be: 


Deepti Chadee, Texas Christian University 

At-Large Member 

Ann Comerford, University of Illinois–Springfield 

At-Large Member 

Tari Hunter, California State Polytechnic University–Pomona

At-Large Member 

Coretta King, Northwestern University 

The overall 17.4% turnout in this election compares to a five-year average of 15.5% participation and to last year’s average of 15.1%. Of eligible voting members, 17.7% of professionals and 6% of students cast a ballot. A detailed overview of the participation in this year’s Board of Trustees election, including a voter breakdown, is available here: 2021 Election Results Breakdown

Thanks to all of the candidates who volunteered to serve ACUI, and congratulations to the new members of the Board of Trustees. 


  • Steve Chaplin

    Steve Chaplin is managing editor of ACUI’s The Bulletin and manager of the ACUI College Union and Student Activities (CUSA) Evaluation Program. A former newspaper writer, editor, and manager, he has volunteered as a student mentor as a member of the National Association of Science Writers, and received awards for his writing and reporting from the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education, the Kentucky Education Association, and the Kentucky Press Association.

    View all posts