Region I Members Select Cal–Northridge’s Liu as New Leader

ACUI is announcing that Samantha Liu has been elected to a two-year term as director of ACUI’s Region I, which encompasses Arizona, Australia, California, Guam, Hawaii, Nevada, and New Mexico. Liu currently serves as associate director, operations and services, at California State University–Northridge. She previously held the role of educational programs coordinator for Region I.

Liu has 16 years of experience working for the University Student Union at California State University–Northridge in the fields of operations, reservations, customer service, event management, facilities maintenance, project management, and facilities planning. She’s volunteered for ACUI since 2007 and served in various roles on the Regional Leadership team, including as student vice chair and education programs coordinator. She holds a bachelor’s degree in public health education and a master’s degree in public administration from California State University–Northridge.

Liu said the most important issues facing the Region I and the Association are “engagement and identifying renewed purpose on our campuses.”

“While all our campuses are experiencing having trouble recruiting student leaders, volunteers or employees, our regions are also facing similar challenges recruiting new members or volunteers to serve,” she said. “At the same time, we are working to redefine the role of the college union. As an association, we need to find ways to leverage the members and volunteers we currently have and create meaningful opportunities that are more efficient. We need to tell our story of our purpose and talk to our members about what they want or how we can serve them.”


  • Steve Chaplin

    Steve Chaplin is managing editor of ACUI’s The Bulletin and manager of the ACUI College Union and Student Activities (CUSA) Evaluation Program. A former newspaper writer, editor, and manager, he has volunteered as a student mentor as a member of the National Association of Science Writers, and received awards for his writing and reporting from the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education, the Kentucky Education Association, and the Kentucky Press Association.

    View all posts