Northwestern’s Smyth to Serve as New ACUI Region V Director

Corbin Smyth, executive director of Norris University Center at Northwestern University, has been elected to serve as ACUI’s regional director of Region V for a two-year term beginning this year. ACUI’s Region V consists of Illinois, South Dakota, North Dakota, Minnesota, Nebraska, Iowa, Wisconsin, and Manitoba.

Smyth has a long history with ACUI, having been awarded the Daniel M. Maxwell Dissertation of the Year Award and the C. Richard Scott Memorial Scholarship, along with serving as a leader of the Research Program Team, contributing as a writer to The Bulletin, and serving as a member of the Conference Program Team. He also served on numerous regional conference teams, has been an IPDS coordinator, and presented educational sessions at numerous ACUI Annual Conferences.

“Over the last few years, including prior to COVID, I have seen a diminished level of volunteer involvement in professional associations. The former and current existing model of how our ACUI regions serve our membership is being revisited and I am excited to play a role in this redevelopment, while also serving the region as a representative in the process,” Smyth said.

Smyth was named executive director of Norris University Center in May after serving as associate vice chancellor for student life and director of the Kirby Student Center at the University of Minnesota–Duluth. He holds an Ed.D. from the University of Minnesota, and Master of Education from the University of South Carolina, and a B.A. in telecommunications from Indiana University–Bloomington.


  • Steve Chaplin

    Steve Chaplin is managing editor of ACUI’s The Bulletin and manager of the ACUI College Union and Student Activities (CUSA) Evaluation Program. A former newspaper writer, editor, and manager, he has volunteered as a student mentor as a member of the National Association of Science Writers, and received awards for his writing and reporting from the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education, the Kentucky Education Association, and the Kentucky Press Association.

    View all posts