New ACUI Board of Trustees Members Take Office at 2018 Annual Conference

ACUI inducted president-elect Jennifer Zamora, at-large members Deepti Chadee, Krista Harrell, and Heidi Lang, and student member Spencer Vincent to its Board of Trustees at the 2018 Annual Conference held March 20–25 in Anaheim, California.

While the incoming president serves a three-year term—the first year as president-elect, next as president, and third as immediate past president—at-large members and the student member fulfill a two- and one-year term, respectively.

In their first year, these new members will serve alongside president Michael Coleman (Tallahassee Community College), immediate past president Jeff Pelletier (The Ohio State University), Laura Ballou (University of Rochester), Jennifer Keegin (Binghamton University), Jeremy Schenk (Northwestern University), and ACUI Chief Executive Officer John Taylor.

“This is a great time for the Association, and the leadership that Jennifer, Deepti, Krista, and Heidi will bring to the board will be amazing,” Coleman said. “I am also looking forward to watching Spencer lead and provide a strong student voice for the Association. It is going to be a privilege to not only serve alongside our new trustees, but to also learn from them.”

Jennifer Zamora is director of student programs at University of Texas–Austin. Her volunteer experience with ACUI extends back to 2005 when she served as an I-LEAD® facilitator and member of the I-LEAD® Curriculum Development Team. Since then she’s served as a member of the Anaheim Annual Conference Team from 2007–09, Region 1 Conference Program Team in 2010, Campus Life and Program Management co-chair for the Region 1 Leadership Team from 2010–12, ACUI Collegiate Clay Target Championships volunteer from 2012–present, member of the ACUI Envisioned Future Work Group in 2013, host director of the San Antonio Annual Conference Program Team from 2013–15, CUPSI Host Institution liaison in 2016, Board of Trustees member from 2015–2017 and Board of Trustees Finance Chair from 2016–17, and Education Council member from 2017-present. She holds a bachelor’s degree in interdisciplinary studies from Texas A&M University, a master’s degree in higher education and student affairs from Indiana University, and is currently pursuing a Ph.D. in educational leadership and policy from the University of Texas–Austin.

Deepti Chadee is associate director of student activities and special events at Texas A&M University–Commerce. Her volunteer experience with ACUI began in 2009 when she served as graduate student project team leader for the Region 12 Leadership Team. Chadee has also served as the Region 12 Conference host chair from 2011–12 and as the team’s education coordinator from 2012–13, the Region 11 Leadership Team educational programs coordinator from 2013–14, 2016 Annual Conference Program Team member from 2014–16, and as Region 11 Conference coordinator in 2017. She holds a bachelor’s degree in business management from North Carolina State University and a master’s degree in higher education administration and student affairs from Texas Tech University.

Krista Harrell is the associate dean of students and Title IX coordinator at the University of South Alabama. Her volunteer experience with ACUI has included serving as the 2015 Annual Conference Program Team educational program coordinator and as an Education Council member from 2015–17. She was the 2010 recipient of ACUI’s Gretchen Laatsch Scholarship and in 2014 received ACUI’s Dissertation of the Year Award. She holds a bachelor’s degree in human services counseling, a master’s degree in higher education administration, and a Ph.D. in higher education, all from Old Dominion University.

Heidi Lang is assistant director for program and leadership development at University of Wisconsin–Madison. Her volunteer experience with ACUI began as a member of the 2008 New Orleans Conference Program Team from 2006–08. She served as a Regional Conference Planning Team chair from 2011–12 and as a member of the 2017 Philadelphia Annual Conference Program Team from 2015–17. She holds a bachelor’s degree in psychology and interpersonal communications from Western Michigan University, a master’s degree in higher education administration from North Carolina State University, and is pursuing a Ph.D. in student affairs administration from the University of Wisconsin–La Crosse.

Spencer Vincent is a sophomore and student orientation leader at Virginia Commonwealth University who attended ACUI’s I-LEAD® Connect at VCU in 2017. A member of Kappa Alpha Psi fraternity and a student ambassador for undergraduate admissions, Vincent has also served on VCU’s Activities Programming Board as an event squad member and homecoming lord.

Outgoing board members include at-large members Ian Crone (Northern Illinois University), Brenda Evans (University of Massachusetts–Lowell), and Trinity Gonzalez (Florida State University); as well as student member Ayana Clayton (Virginia Commonwealth University). The 2017–18 Board of Trustees election drew 564 ballots from an eligible 3,140 voter pool, representing an 18% voter turnout. A full breakdown of the voter participation is available here.


  • Liz Stringer

    Liz Stringer serves as ACUI's director of outreach, overseeing the membership, marketing, branding, and member services areas of the Association. Stringer has been with ACUI for more than 15 years.

    View all posts