Indiana Transgender Bill Takes Effect July 1

Indiana House Bill 1041, which was passed on May 24 after the Indiana Legislature overrode the Indiana governor’s veto, takes effect today, July 1. House Bill 1041 repeals existing protections and prevents transgender women and girls from participating in interscholastic school sports consistent with their gender identity. 

The ACUI Central Office is located in Bloomington, Indiana, and while we recognize that several other U.S. states have passed similar legislation, such actions will never interfere with our overriding mission of creating an inclusive environment free of discrimination in all forms for every one of our members. This is, has been, and always will be at the core of ACUI’s purpose to advance community.

ACUI has a long history of valuing diversity and striving for all members to feel welcome at any ACUI event or program. Unfortunately, the reality exists that external factors can affect ACUI conferences and programs, and, in this case, the ACUI Central Office. We have in the past terminated contracts based on discriminatory laws that affect our members; most recently, the 2023 Annual Conference was relocated from Orlando to Boston.

However, it is not always possible or feasible to take such actions when laws that conflict with ACUI’s values are enacted. We are frustrated and disappointed with the new law that discriminates against transgender individuals in Indiana; but it is not realistic for ACUI to move its Central Office to another location at this time. We will continue to advocate for equity and access in the Bloomington community—encouraging members and staff to do the same in their communities—and work to eliminate discriminatory practices when encountered. 


  • Elizabeth Beltramini

    Elizabeth Beltramini served as ACUI's director of content curation and chief diversity officer. She worked at ACUI for more than 20 years before leaving in 2022 to pursue new challenges. Upon her departure, Beltramini received ACUI's Honorary Membership and Presidential Award for Distinguished Services.

    View all posts