Congratulations on ACUI Achievements This Year

Over the past month, ACUI has celebrated outstanding achievements in advancing campus community with the announcements of our 2020 awards and scholarships recipients. In addition to these honors, please join ACUI in congratulating members who achieved long-term membership milestones this year and the recipients of 2019 regional awards and scholarships.

Long-Term ACUI Members

ACUI is pleased to celebrate institutions for their commitment to advancing campus community. These partners in supporting student success have achieved a notable milestone in 2020 for holding long-term membership in the Association.

  • Carroll University
  • Genesee Community College
  • Georgetown University
  • Indiana University-Purdue University–Indianapolis
  • Merrimack College
  • New Mexico State University
  • Ocean County College
  • Rutgers University
  • Sacred Heart University
  • St. Olaf College
  • Texas A&M University–Corpus Christi
  • University of Chicago
  • University of Louisiana–Lafayette
  • University of Miami
  • University of Nebraska–Lincoln
  • University of Nevada–Reno
  • University of Nevada–Las Vegas
  • University of Southern Indiana
  • University of Tennessee
  • University of Wisconsin–Green Bay
  • University of Wisconsin–Stevens Point
  • Webster University
  • West Virginia University
  • Western Michigan University
  • Minnesota State University–Moorhead
  • Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University
  • University of California–Irvine
  • University of Houston
  • University of Kansas
  • University of Maryland
  • University of Wisconsin–Platteville
  • Valdosta State University
  • Vanderbilt University
  • Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Virginia Tech
  • Washington State University
  • Colorado State University
  • Davidson College
  • Kansas State University
  • Ohio University
  • Oregon State University
  • University of Central Missouri
  • University of Colorado
  • University of Connecticut
  • University of Rhode Island

2019 Recipients of Regional Awards and Scholarships

The regions recognize and provide opportunities to members through awards and scholarships. In 2019, a total of 60 regional awards and scholarships were presented, with $17,400 being offered in funding to support student and professional development. Congratulations to the 2019 recipients for their achievement.

  • Debra L. Hammond Outstanding New Professional Staff Award: Perosaiye Akinbohun, California State University–Northridge
  • Matt Cameron Outstanding Student Award: Kole Wellenstein, San Diego State University
  • Shirley Bird Perry Distinguished Service Award: Wendy Denman, University of North Texas
  • William H. Smith Outstanding Professional Award: Molly Orr, University of North Texas
  • Shirley Plakidas New Professional Award: Nick Elliott, Southeastern Louisiana University
  • Undergraduate Rising Star Award: Jaylin Glover, University of Texas–San Antonio
  • Graduate Rising Star Award: Neil Bourgeois, Missouri State University
  • Scholarship Recipients: Nicole Redmond, Southeastern Louisiana University; Katherine Romero, Texas State University; Alina Sergienko, Truman State University; Megan Ward, West Texas A&M University
  • Smith-Steele Award: Alison Ward, University of Tennessee
  • New Professional Award: Brent Sutphin, University of Southern Mississippi
  • Outstanding Advisor-Mentor Award: Jessica Inman, University of Florida
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student Leader Award: Craig Messina, North Carolina State University
  • Outstanding Volunteer Award: Chris Adrian, Coastal Carolina University
  • Student Union/Campus Activities Program of the Year: Thursdays After Dark, University of South Carolina
  • Rodie-Keintz Outstanding Staff Mentor Award: Eric Alexander, Western Washington University
  • Outstanding New Professional Award: Michael Middleton, Central Washington University
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award: Kevin Swenson, University of Alaska–Fairbanks
  • Student-Driven Program of the Year: Wildfest, Central Washington University
  • Scholarship Recipients: Bernard Aoto, University of Alaska–Fairbanks
  • “Rising Star” Award for New Professionals: Edi Kuhn, Marquette University
  • Graduate Student of the Year: Cydney Coffey, Minnesota State University–Mankato
  • Undergraduate Student of the Year: Jessica Rosignol, University of Wisconsin–Whitewater
  • Scholarship Recipients: Mariah Mihm, University of Wisconsin–Oshkosh; Erica Meredith, University of Wisconsin–Oshkosh; Jenilee Smith, University of Wisconsin–Whitewater
  • Gretchen Laatsch Outstanding Service Award: Don Rohel, Shepherd University
  • Winston Shindell Outstanding Emerging Leader Award: Jessica Wilson, Valparaiso University
  • Bob Rodda New Professional Award: Hannah Muldoon-Davis, Miami University
  • Colleen Hennessey Undergraduate Student Award: Hannah Warner, Ball State University
  • Colleen Hennessey Graduate Student Award: Ryan Spolar, Xavier University
  • Outstanding Staff Development Program Award: Student Employee Program, Valparaiso University
  • Outstanding Collaborative Program: Holidays Around the World, Purdue University
  • Scholarship Recipient: Brooke Heitmeyer, Ohio State University
  • Joseph H. Benedict Award: Kaitlyn Howarth, William Patterson University
  • Outstanding New Professional: Casey Coleman, Montclair State University
  • Outstanding Graduate Student: Kira Cases, Montclair State University
  • Outstanding Undergraduate Student: Octavia Minter, Rutgers University–New Brunswick
  • Dr. Teresa D. Drummond Memorial Award: Campus Climate and Culture, Daemen College
  • Community Building Award: Free Food @ Temple, Temple University
  • Scholarship Recipients: Maria Dovshek, California University of Pennsylvania; Kaitlyn Howarth, William Paterson University; Dylan Regan, Rowan University; Dawn Savage, Pennsylvania State University; Larry Traylor, Rutgers University; Ashley Venneman, University of Maryland
  • Distinguished Service Award: Una Redmond, Dublin City University
  • College Union and Campus Life Role Model Award (Staff): Andrade Fearon, Northeastern University
  • College Union and Campus Life Role Model Award (Student): Stephanie Garcia, Bridgewater State University
  • New Professional Award: Podge Sheehan, Dublin City University
  • Student Employee Award: Andrew Pelzer, Fitchburg State University
  • Significant Volunteer Award: Kaitlyn Dyleski, Bridgewater State University
  • Scholarship Recipients: Alexis Crespo, Central Connecticut State University; Kristina DeVivo, Central Connecticut State University; Aryana Kubiak, Clark University; Jason Howell, Albertus Magnus College; Jose Reyes, University of Massachusetts–Boston; Ian Russell, Maynooth University, Ireland


  • Steve Chaplin

    Steve Chaplin is managing editor of ACUI’s The Bulletin and manager of the ACUI College Union and Student Activities (CUSA) Evaluation Program. A former newspaper writer, editor, and manager, he has volunteered as a student mentor as a member of the National Association of Science Writers, and received awards for his writing and reporting from the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education, the Kentucky Education Association, and the Kentucky Press Association.

    View all posts