The ACUI Values Award is presented to up to five individuals annually who continuously uphold the ACUI core values in their daily work. The importance of the college union is actively demonstrated through this individual’s commitment to unconditional human worth, joy, learning, caring community, innovation, diversity, and integrity.

2024 Recipient: Tari Hunter, 
California State University–Northridge

Tari Hunter exemplifies the ACUI core values and demonstrates it daily in her work on various campuses in various positions over her 20 years in the college union and student activities field. Hunter has served on Regional Leadership Teams, Regional and Annual Conference Program Teams, the Board of Trustees, and more. Her nominator shared an example of her commitment to the ACUI value of “joy” by stating that she is the “woo” of the union, and she impacts students and her staff through the program and services that are delivered with joy. 

The 2023 nomination period has passed. Please check back in April 2024 for details on the next nomination period.

Submission materials must include the following:

  1. Name, institution, and contact information of the nominee.
  2. Name, institution, and contact information of the nominator.
  3. Two to three letters in support of the applicant to receive the award written by individuals such as direct supervisors/advisors, peers/colleagues, students, faculty members, etc., addressing:
    • The achievements of the nominee in the profession.
    • The demonstrated commitment of the nominee to the criteria identified for this specific award.
    • A summary of the nominee’s background to provide evidence that they meet the criteria identified for this specific award, including information related to professional experience and volunteer service—providing a current resume or curriculum vitae for the nominee is optional.

The review process includes, but is not limited to, an assessment of written evidence that the nominee has gone above and beyond to embody the ACUI core values in their work to advance campus community. An individual cannot receive the ACUI Values Award more than once.

Individuals with ACUI membership are eligible for this award. In a given year, one individual with ACUI membership from each of the following categories may receive this award:

  • Undergraduate students
  • Graduate students
  • New professionals (up to five years of experience)
  • Mid- to senior-level professionals (more than 5 years of experience)
  • Associate members

Electronic notification will be sent to confirm award submissions have been received. A confidential Individuals Awards and Scholarships Committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review materials to make the selection. One recipient will be chosen, unless otherwise noted for the specific award. One physical award will be given to the recipient, who will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference and in subsequent publications.

  • 2023: Shanna Kinzel, University of Nevada–Las Vegas; Linda Koon, University of Wisconsin–Oshkosh
  • 2022: Ian Crone, University of Tennessee–Knoxville
  • 2021: Doyle Hytchye, University of Texas–San Antonio; Rene Singleton, the University of Washington
  • 2020: Tricia Dobrient, Marquette University; David Lemon, University of St. Thomas; Michael MacStudy, Ramapo College
  • 2019: Michael Boerner, Stony Brook University; Kyle Burke, Northeastern Illinois University; and Victoria Lawler, California State University–Northridge
  • 2018: Tara Benson, Missouri State University
  • 2017: Amy Liss, University of Massachusetts–Lowell
  • 2016: Jessi Eaton, University of Minnesota–Duluth
  • 2015: Keith Kowalka, University of Houston
  • 2014: Tina Pinocci, Rowan University