Honorary membership is conferred by the Board of Trustees on those individuals who have demonstrated exceptional service to ACUI. Honorary members are granted all rights and privileges as defined by the ACUI Constitution, with the added privilege that their annual dues will be waived and that their annual conference registration fee will be reduced.

Normally reserved for those retiring from the profession, on appropriate occasions, it may be awarded to non-union personnel whose efforts have served to enhance the Association and the college union idea, or to a professional who has rendered exceptional service but has left the profession in pursuit of other careers.

ACUI is now accepting nominations through November 20.

2024 Recipient: Dave Barnes

Colleagues describe Dave Barnes as a joy to work with, a person who always sees the glass half full. Barnes retired in June after more than 30 years as the director at James Madison University. Barnes saw himself a steward of his facility during his career, focused on creating a better future. This is true of his time with ACUI as well. Barnes provided his leadership and stewardship through his roles as president, at-large Board of Trustees member, Education and Research Fund Team member, Conference Program Team member, and more. Barnes received the Butts-Whiting Awards in 2020.

2024 Recipient: matt Cameron

Matt Cameron retired in August of last year; he served for more than 36 years at Santa Clara University, most recently as assistant vice provost. Colleagues appreciate Cameron’s ability to problem solve; he can analyze any situation and assist in finding a path forward. Cameron brought his leadership skills to ACUI, serving as ACUI president, 1997 Conference Program Team chair, and Region 15 director, among other roles. Cameron received the Butts-Whiting Award in 2006.

2024 Recipient: Debra Hammond

Debra Hammond’s impact at California State University–Northridge can be found through facilities she brought to life to better serve students, including the Pride Center and Veterans Resource Center. She will retire in December after more than 30 years at the campus. Hammond’s impact can also be found right here at ACUI. She served through roles on the Board of Trustees, including president, and imperative working groups, as a leader of the Multi-Ethnic Professionals and Allies Community, and as mentor to many. Hammond received the Butts-Whiting Award in 2002 and Legacy Leader Award in 2022.

2024 Recipient: LANITA LEGAN

Lanita Legan will retire in May after more than 40 years in the field, most recently as the associate director at Texas State University. Her career is marked by her dedication to students and commitment to creating an environment for their success. Legan also worked for the success of ACUI; in fact, one of her nominators said that “her heart bleeds ACUI.” Among her ACUI volunteer roles, Legan was director of former Regions 5 and 12 and is currently a member of the Education Council.

ACUI is now accepting nominations through November 20!

At a minimum, individuals eligible for this award must:

  • Have 15 years of employment in the profession at ACUI member institutions; or be a non-union/activities professional who has rendered exceptional service to ACUI, but has left the profession in pursuit of other careers.
  • Have ten years of exceptional service to ACUI, with at least five years of service at the Association level.
  • Have nomination letter(s) support submitted describing instances of how the individual has given exceptional service to the Association and demonstrating how the exceptional service has made an impact.

Nominators will receive electronic notification confirming receipt of materials. This honor is conferred by the Board of Trustees. A physical award will be given to the recipients, who will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference and in subsequent publications.

Dan Adams
Victoria Angis
Patrick Bailey
Gary Bartlett
Ernest Bebb
Boris Bell
Elizabeth Beltramini
Joseph Benedict
Colette Berge
Fay Blackburn
William Blain
Martha Blood
Michael Bowen
Jay Boyar
William Brattain
Ruth Burnham
Matthew Carey
Jan Carlson
Jim Carruthers
Joseph Cavalla
Christine Chergi
Gary Chrzastowski
Frank Cianciola
Ann Claussen
Mike Coleman
Patrice Coleman-Boatwright
Mary Connelly
Archie Copeland
John Corker

Christopher Cottle
Kaye Cross
Manuel Cunard
Mark Day
Nancy Davis Metz
J. Scott Derrick
William Edwards
Linda Eldred
Wendell Ellenwood
Mandy Ellertson
Michael Ellington
Jim Eustrom
Earl Finder
Michael Georgeson
Neil Gerard
Joe Gutowski
Sally Hammock
Sarah-Ann Harnick
Krista Harrell
Kim Harrington
Michael Henthorne
Marsha Herman-Betzen
Ted Hoef
Whit Hollis
Audrey Hozack
J. William Johnston
Bruce Kaiser
Thomas Keys
Jean Kistler Kendall

Tami Kuhn
Gretchen Laatsch
Floyd Land
Thomas Lile
Ronald Loomis
Donald Luse
Jerry Mann
Susan Yung Maul
Dale McHenry
Robert Mindrum
Peter Neville
Meg O’Sullivan
Jack Overman
Susan Payment
Bernard Pitts
Shirley Plakidas
Michael Poe
George Preisinger
Chuck Price
Carol Prior Heller
Charles Rausch
Timothy Reed
Bob Rodda
Carolyn Rion
Monika Rodie
Donald Rohel
Robert Rouzer
Thomas Rufer
Loren Rullman

Holly Sateia
Kim Savage
Robert Schneeweiss
Judi Schwartz
Paul Sherbakoff
Winston Shindell
Sharon “Chickie” Silverstein
Edward Slazinik
Curtis Smout
William Smriga
Bill Spelman
Elizabeth Jane Stachowiak
LeNorman Strong
Marvin Swenson
Gordon Teigen
Nancy Turner
Billy Joe Varney
Gerri Walters
Warren Wiese
Cynthia Woolbright
F. James Zwickey

Honorary membership provides a complimentary membership to recipients that provides access to retiree-level benefits plus one subscription to the printed Bulletin. Honorary members are eligible to receive retiree pricing for events and other benefits while retired or employed outside higher education. Those actively employed within higher education (even if previously employed or working outside the field) are not eligible for retiree pricing for events. These individuals would need to register at the prevailing member (or nonmember) fee based on the campus’s institutional membership. Despite employment status, honorary members will continue to receive other retiree benefits.