The Excellence in Volunteer Service Award acknowledges up to six individuals annually for their success and loyalty to ACUI during the previous 12 months in a volunteer role. The individual’s high level of engagement affirms the value of professional service, validating their leadership, passion, and contribution to ACUI.

2023 Recipient: Nicole Bellcorelli,
University of Wisconsin–Oshkosh 

Nicole Bellcorelli has served as student involvement coordinator for Region V, focusing on the student experience and reaching out to each student attendee to ensure they feel welcome before arrival. She has reviewed educational sessions and scholarship applications and nominated colleagues for Region V awards. 

2023 Recipient: Deidre Kennelly, Mary Immaculate College  

Deidre Kennelly has made significant contributions to Region VIII by serving as its communications coordinator, helping to plan the Info Desk Podcast, serving on the Regional Leadership Team, and providing elected officers at her institution with professional advice, managerial experience, as well as continuity within the union.  

2023 Recipient: Chrissie King, Rutgers University–Camden

In addition to her role as assistant director of the Campus Center, Chrissie King serves as the student involvement coordinator on the Regional Leadership Team for Region VII. She is committed to improving the overall field of campus activities and student unions and genuinely cares about the attendee experience.  

2023 Recipient: Kat Romero, Texas State University

Kat Romero has been instrumental in good stewardship of Region II funds, setting up the first endowment to offer future members scholarships. She does this while ensuring the region offers the best programing and offers the most scholarships possible.  

ACUI is now accepting nominations for individual awards! Nominate by December 8!

Submission materials must include the following:

  1. Name, institution, and contact information of the nominee.
  2. Name, institution, and contact information of the nominator.
  3. Two to three letters in support of the applicant to receive the award written by individuals such as direct supervisors/advisors, peers/colleagues, students, faculty members, etc., addressing:
    • The achievements of the nominee in the profession.
    • The demonstrated commitment of the nominee to the criteria identified for this specific award.
    • A summary of the nominee’s background to provide evidence that they meet the criteria identified for this specific award, including information related to professional experience and volunteer service—providing a current resume or curriculum vitae for the nominee is optional.

The submission deadline is December 8.

Note: The submission process is updated this year through our new membership platform—which means applications can autofill with your profile information, be saved as pending for edits until you officially submit, and be stored for your future access. In order to submit an application, you will need to create an account login, if you don’t already have one.

The review process includes, but is not limited to, an assessment of the criteria listed below. The nominee must:

  • Have exceptional service to ACUI through a defined volunteer role, not on the ACUI Leadership Team.
  • Demonstrate a contribution, passion, and impact to the profession and ACUI through their volunteer service.

Individuals with membership in ACUI who have performed in at least one non-Leadership Team volunteer role during the previous 12 months is eligible for this award.

Volunteers serving on the ACUI Leadership Team during the previous 12 months shall not be considered eligible for this award, which includes Board of Trustees members, Education Council members, regional directors, and special appointments.

Electronic notification will be sent to confirm award submissions have been received. A confidential Individuals Awards and Scholarships Committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review materials to make the selection. One recipient will be chosen, unless otherwise noted for the specific award. One physical award will be given to the recipient, who will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference and in subsequent publications.

  • 2022: Jennifer Duncan, Agnes Scott College; Ali Myszewski, Marquette University; Molly Orr, University of North Texas
  • 2021 – Brent Freeman – University of Nebraska–Lincoln
  • 2020: Angel Flowers – Indianapolis University-Purdue University–Indianapolis; Danielle Mancuso – Southern Oregon University
  • 2019: Clayton Kolb – Virginia Tech; Rhonda Laylo – University of Illinois–Chicago; Brian Magee – University of Rochester; Kerry Spicer – Daemen College; and Brian Starkel – Indiana University-Purdue University–Indianapolis
  • 2018: Elise Alford – Boise State University; Lauren Sposato – University of Houston; and Alison Ward – University of Tennessee
  • 2017: Shanna Kinzel – California State University–Monterey Bay
  • 2016: Heather Beasley – Purdue University; and Jennifer Keegin – Binghamton University
  • 2015: Michael Sprinkle – Indiana University-Purdue University–Indianapolis
  • 2014: Laura Ballou – University of Rochester; Amanda Ellertson – Portland Community College; Scott Reed – Virginia Tech; and Molly Ward – Weber State University