Undergraduate students who have demonstrated leadership and involvement in their campus communities will be afforded this $400 scholarship in memory of C. Richard Scott. Recipients will be able to participate in an ACUI-sponsored educational activity to network with mentors and peers, learn more about the profession, and take part in leadership and community development activities.

2023 Recipient: Maeve Connaughton,
Virginia Commonwealth University 

Maeve Connaughton is a dedicated student employee with a high standard of customer service and is also a member of several honors societies as well as the president and founder of the Student Literary Association. She will utilize this scholarship to attend I-LEAD®, which will enhance her leadership skills and network and allow her to learn from various lived experiences. 

ACUI is now accepting nominations for scholarships! Nominate by December 8!

Submission materials must include the following:

  1. Name, institution, and contact information of the applicant.
  2. A personal essay, written by the applicant, addressing (in 2,500 words or less):
    • Evidence that the applicant meets the criteria identified for this specific scholarship.
    • A summary of experiences related to advancing campus community, including positions or involvement the applicant has held on campus, in ACUI, and/or with other relevant organizations.
    • What activity is requested to be supported by the scholarship, including how the applicant would benefit from participation in the activity.
  3. Two to three letters in support of the applicant to receive the scholarship written by individuals such as direct supervisors/advisors, peers/colleagues, students, faculty members, etc.
  4. And an acknowledgement by the applicant that, if selected:
    • They are available to participate in the dates of the proposed activity.
    • They may receive a full or partial scholarship, and it is the obligation of the recipient or recipient’s institution to support additional expenses, including travel and lodging, required to participate in the activity.

The submission deadline is December 8.

Note: The submission process is updated this year through our new membership platform—which means applications can autofill with your profile information, be saved as pending for edits until you officially submit, and be stored for your future access. In order to submit an application, you will need to create an account login, if you don’t already have one.

The review process includes, but is not limited to, an assessment of the criteria listed below. The applicant must:

  • Have demonstrated leadership experience and involvement in their campus community.
  • Understand the importance of the profession in advancing campus community.

Degree-seeking undergraduate students enrolled at an ACUI member institution who are not full-time employees at the institution are eligible for this award.

Electronic notification will be sent to confirm award submissions have been received. A confidential Individuals Awards and Scholarships Committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review materials to make the selection. One recipient will be chosen, unless otherwise noted for the specific award. One physical award will be given to the recipient, who will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference and in subsequent publications.

  • 2021: Alejandro Jimenez, California State University–Northridge
  • 2019: Mohamad Karim – Portland Community College 
  • 2018: Melissa Iracheta – University of Houston 
  • 2017: Kien Truong – Portland Community College 
  • 2016: Jordan Tapp – Furman University 
  • 2015: Tarsha Moore – Southern Illinois University–Edwardsville 
  • 2014: Abreetta Goode – Texas State University 
  • 2012: Molly Peirano – The Ohio State University 
  • 2010: Cory Headley – University of Utah 
  • 2005: Dana Marcinek – Northeastern University 
  • 2003: Dirk Rodricks – University of Vermont 
  • 2002: Michele Shelton – Tufts University 
  • 2001: Jeremy Sonenschein – California State University–Northridge 
  • 2000: Mandy Chong – University of Oregon 
  • 1999: Raymond Juarez – California State University–Northridge 
  • 1998: Corbin Smyth – University of South Carolina–Columbia 
  • 1997: Adrian Rodriguez – Southern Oregon University 
  • 1996: Christina Mock – California State Polytechnic University-Pomona 

About C. Richard Scott

C. Richard Scott was the director of operations for the University Student Union at California State University–Northridge and also worked at Boston University, Northeastern University, and Indiana University. His leadership roles in ACUI included serving as Region 15 representative as a conference chair, conference host director for Region 15, and the chair of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender Concerns Committee.