The Adell McMillan Memorial Scholarship was established to assist women in developing their leadership potential within the profession. It benefits the recipient through up to $1,000 in financial support to participate in activities that provide professional development, networking, and leadership opportunities.

2024 Recipient: Eva Ulukivaiola,
University of Alaska–Anchorage

Eva Ulukivaiola is a first-generation college student of Oceania descent, who is dedicated to bolstering her leadership abilities to foster positive change and empower women from diverse backgrounds. She has served as a student government delegate, vice president of the Economics Club, LGBTQ Advisory Board member, and recruitment advisor for Alpha Sigma Alpha. Ulukivaiola will utilize her scholarship to further her leadership skills and advocacy efforts.

ACUI is accepting nominations through November 20.

ACUI is accepting nominations through November 20!

Submission materials must include the following:

  1. Name, institution, and contact information of the applicant.
  2. A personal essay, written by the applicant, addressing (in 2,500 words or less):
    • Evidence that the applicant meets the criteria identified for this specific scholarship.
    • A summary of experiences related to advancing campus community, including positions or involvement the applicant has held on campus, in ACUI, and/or with other relevant organizations.
    • What activity is requested to be supported by the scholarship, including how the applicant would benefit from participation in the activity.
  3. Two to three letters in support of the applicant to receive the scholarship written by individuals such as direct supervisors/advisors, peers/colleagues, students, faculty members, etc.
  4. And an acknowledgement by the applicant that, if selected:
    • They are available to participate in the dates of the proposed activity.
    • They may receive a full or partial scholarship, and it is the obligation of the recipient or recipient’s institution to support additional expenses, including travel and lodging, required to participate in the activity.

The review process includes, but is not limited to, an assessment of the criteria listed below. The applicant must:

  • Excel on campus through leadership, achievement, and institutional involvement.
  • Demonstrate a commitment to and leadership potential in the profession.

Individuals eligible for this award must:

  • Identify as a woman;
  • Have one to five years of experience in the profession at an ACUI member institution; or be a degree-seeking student enrolled at an ACUI member institution.

Electronic notification will be sent to confirm award submissions have been received. A confidential Individuals Awards and Scholarships Committee, appointed annually by the ACUI president, will review materials to make the selection. One recipient will be chosen, unless otherwise noted for the specific award. One physical award will be given to the recipient, who will be recognized during the awards ceremony at the annual conference and in subsequent publications.

  • 2023: Katy Kaesebier, University of Houston 
  • 2022: Sarah Flores, University of Houston
  • 2021: Not awarded
  • 2020: Spencer Stidd – Virginia Tech
  • 2019: Paige LaPoint – University of Alaska–Fairbanks
  • 2018: Erica Epps – North Carolina State University
  • 2017: Alexandra Beynon – Temple University
  • 2016: Kait Howarth – Temple University
  • 2015: Hali Buck – The Ohio State University
  • 2014: Jennifer Powell – Valparaiso University
  • 2013: Reece Painter-Payne – Central Connecticut State University
  • 2012: Laura Rogalski – Western New England University

About Adell McMillan

McMillan served as director of the Erb Memorial Union at the University of Oregon, was president of ACUI, and was the recipient of the Butts-Whiting Award in 1987. In 2006, she authored a collection of oral histories of the college union movement and ACUI titled College Union Pioneers.

This scholarship recognizes her role as one of the first women to serve as a leader of ACUI and her commitment to the development of women in leadership roles.

McMillan was recognized with the Butts-Whiting Award, ACUI’s highest honor, in 1987, and she served as the ACUI president in 1981.